Est. 1988

Study in Australia

All > Australian National University


Established by the Commonwealth Government in 1946 to lead the intellectual development of Australia through research and education of the highest international standards, today ANU is recognised as one of the world’s leading centres of research and teaching.


The University offers students the chance to study alongside and learn from distinguished academics – individuals who contribute at a global level: leading and shaping debate, making vital discoveries and extending knowledge in new and profound directions.


The main campus occupies 145 hectares of parklands in the centre of the nation’s capital, Canberra. Facilities include on-campus accommodation in a range of residential styles, modern laboratories and lecture theatres, five main libraries, and access to a wealth of e-resources. Medical services, shops, cafes, restaurants, art galleries, sporting fields and bookshops are also located on campus.

  • Arts and Social Sciences 
  • Physical & Mathematical Sciences 
  • Medicine, Biology and Environment 
  • College of Business and Economics 


  • Engineering and Computer Science 
  • Asia and the Pacific
  • Law 




ANU's Acton campus is in the heart of Canberra - Australia's capital city - in the Australian Capital Territory (ACT).


From here it's an easy walk, bike ride or drive to some of Australia's most significant political and cultural institutions including Australian Parliament House.


Amongst our modern lecture halls, libraries, laboratories, student residences and administration buildings, you'll find all the conveniences of a small suburb including cafes, bars, supermarkets, child care centres, a newsagency, post office and even a medical centre.


The Acton Campus is well renowned for its landscape setting, with many remnant and planted trees and an obvious commitment to maintenance of open space. ANU maintains over 10,000 trees, including over 500 considered to be of exceptional significance because of their age, history or species and over 300 remnant trees predating European occupation of the area. The areas of Sullivan's Creek and University Avenue are key features of the Acton Campus providing major avenues across the campus that contribute to its 'park like' nature and are also nationally and internationally recognised features of the Acton campus.

Notable Alumni


Kevin Rudd, Prime Minister of Australia 2007-2010, 2013


Bob Hawke, Prime Minister of Australia 1983-1991 (attended but did not graduate)


Warren Snowdon, Member of the Australian House of Representatives since 1987, Federal Minister since 2007


Barry O'Farrell, Premier of New South Wales since 2011


Katy Gallagher, Chief Minister of the Australian Capital Territory since 2011


Andrew Barr, Deputy Chief Minister of the Australian Capital Territory since 2011


Jon Stanhope, Chief Minister of the Australian Capital Territory 2001-2011


Copyright ©2018 by ACAE